The e-District Programme

E-District is a Mission Mode Project under the National e-Governance Plan which aims at providing support to the basic administrative unit i.e. “District Administration” to enable content development of G2C services, which would optimally leverage and utilize the three infrastructure pillars, (SDC, SWAN & CSC) to deliver services to the citizen at his doorstep. E-District aims at delivering the services to citizens at the grass-root level and to create a sustainable model and supporting structures for effective implementation of the MMP in all the Districts across the State. The project undertakes backend computerization to e-enable the delivery of these services through Common Service Centers. Its vision is e-enabling of the highly visible services offered by the District Administration to the citizens thereby creating a citizen-friendly government administration at District level. The e-District project infuses transparency and accountability in Service delivery and administration which leads to reduction of administrative burden for the District administration in delivering the services through process simplification and infusion of ICT. It aims to integrate the MMP with other key MMPs such as State Data Centre, State Wide Area Network as also with State Portal for effective utilization of the common infrastructure.


The e-District Project in Jharkhand

Jharkhand was selected as one of the pilot states for the implementation of the pilot e-District project and Ranchi was selected as the pilot district for implementation of the same. This project was sanctioned by the Government of India for an amount of Rs.319.69 Lakhs. The new system, will enable the people in rural areas to have electronically/digitally signed certificates for birth, death, income, residential, castes, etc, at common service centers (CSC) located at Panchayat Bhawans and other locations, also known as Pragya Kendras. The project is being implemented by the Jharkhand Agency for Promotion of Information Technology (JAPIT) in consultation with PricewaterhouseCoopers. Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) has developed the software for electronic delivery services.
E-District Go-live session for the pilot phase was conducted at the Kanke block on 13th September 2011, inaugurated by the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Jharkhand Shri Arjun Munda. Five online services viz. Birth Certificate, Death Certificate, Caste certificate, Income Certificate, Local Residential certificate have been started in this block till date. Other services like Revenue Courts, Electoral services, Consumer court services can be accessed by external links as provided on the home page of the website: jharkhand.gov.in/e-district while rest of the services viz. Pension (Old-Age/Widow/Handicap Pension), RTI and Grievance Redressal, Government dues and recoveries will be introduced in a phased manner.
The number of online applications submitted so far is 3800, while the number of certificates already delivered to the residents count to 2600 as on 13th December 2011 at the Kanke Block. 
Infrastructure is being developed at the other 4 blocks of the pilot district Ranchi viz. Ratu, Bero, Itki & Nagri to benefit the people, who had to spend months otherwise to get these documents from the block offices and district headquarter. Hardware has been deployed in all the 4 blocks and the application is planned to go live with the five above mentioned services, to begin with, very soon. Training for the block personnel has been completed, as also for the VLE in the CSCs of these four blocks. Digital signatures to the concerned government officials in the block too have been issued. 
Post going live in the above mentioned four blocks; it is proposed to go-live in the remaining 13 blocks of the district.
The application for e-District Jharkhand is also undergoing the STQC testing and currently Documentation Review is in progress. 
Currently, at Kanke block, all the applications are being submitted at the CSCs. Similarly, certificates too are being delivered through the CSCs. The application is currently accessed through JHARNET which extends up-to the block level and through Broadband/data cards at the Panchayat level/CSC. However, to improve the connectivity up-to the Gram Panchayat level the introduction of wireless connectivity via Wi-Max has been planned. Wi-max has currently been deployed in 34 CSCs of Kanke block. Efforts are on for providing Wi-Max connectivity at CSCs/panchayats/block offices where required, of the other four blocks of Bero, Ratu, Itki & Negri.
In the current scenario, the e-District application is hosted at the existing Data center of the state at JAPIT, which will however be shifted to the new State Date Centre after its commissioning. The State Data Centre project has been awarded to Sify who will be responsible for Service Providing for Design, Site Preparation, Supply, Installation, Commissioning, Maintenance and Operations of the Jharkhand SDC for a period of 5 years. A nominal charge of Rs 15 is proposed to be levied by the CSCs for processing each application. Out of this amount of Rs 15/-, Rs 10 would be for the SCA running the CSCs ( UTL in Ranchi) to be split amongst themselves and the VLE running the CSCs. Balance amount of Rs 5/- is towards government offset.



  • Jharkhand Police
  • Open Government Data Platform India
  • DigiLocker
  • Swachh Bharat
  • ConfoNet
  • JharSewa
  • National Foundation for Communal Harmony
  • National Health Portal
  • Childline
  • India
  • GOI Web Directory
  • MyGov